Where is OUR Humanity, They Ask?

Last night a friend responded to my face book posting of my outrage over our transparent President’s “secret support” for the Libyan rebels. Wondering how I “fell into all this stuff”, he went on to accuse me of being “anti-humanistic in my positions & my blogs”!

My first thought was, COOL…he’s reading them! But then I thought, how Alinsky-ish of him! And then I thought, what a great teaching opportunity!!

I wrote the following paragraph which has turned out to be some of the most prophetic words I’ve ever written, back on 9/28/09 in a piece titled The Time to Stand.-

So the debate will rage and we will determine our destiny from the measure of our own commitment to the values and founding principles of this great land. I have said that it is time for all of us to engage and I have been accused of being harsh in my engagement. I expect no less from those who disagree with me….and I have certainly gotten that. I love my country. I am proud as hell of my country and its people, and yes I am a patriot to the core. I despise hypocrisy, loath a liar and find most people who “judge” a little of both. And make no mistake my friends…when you decide to stand, you will attract all 3 like iron shavings to a magnet!!

 So in the example above, we have the classic Alinsky with a dash of Political Correctness Cocktail! And every single one of us who have dared to speak out or question this President, his policies or administration…have had it served to us. And in this saloon, the bartender’s intention is for us to drink it down like good little boys and girls and then quietly zip ourselves back up into our little nice-nice cocoons. Except…now we know!

So instead of retreat, how about we turn into the fire. How about we get right up in the bartender’s face, look him in the eye and say “You want anti-humanistic? I’ll give you anti-humanistic!!” Now here is where a little prop will go a long way. I don’t care what part of the country you happen to be in wherever you are reading this, but grab the closest newspaper you can find and open it up…here…I’ve got yesterday’s Times Herald Record!

Front page headline- Ex-village clerk pleads guilty to stealing $77K

Page 2- Current punishments not curbing use of drugs

Page3 – Liberty woman charged in home invasion is jailed

Page 3- 67 year-old Newburgh man draws 5 years for stabbing

Page 4- Manufacturers must bear cost in New York

Page 4- Rape suspect who fled to Pa. beats the rap

Page 5- Cops nab Wash. Man in ’09 Paltz burglary

I can’t go on!! Do I need to?

THIS is what 40 some odd years of drinking their cocktails have brought us. I don’t care where you go to bed in this country! Because you are waking up in Pottersville each and every day! Thank God for TV right? We can watch all the pretty people tell us how good things are…kind of like inflation (Been to the store lately?).

So I thought it might be useful to list the essence of my concerns and observations which have been labeled as anti-humanistic:

  • 35% of income in this country is in the form of government handouts.

 

  • Today in America there are nearly twice as many people working for the government (22.5 million) than in all of manufacturing (11.5 million).

 

  • More Americans work for the government than work in construction, farming, fishing, forestry, manufacturing, mining and utilities combined. We have moved decisively from a nation of makers to a nation of takers.

 

  • The CBO projects entitlement spending to grow from 9.9% of GDP to 12% by 2021.

 

  • A Labor Department index measuring the actual cost of living, known as the chained consumer price index, hit 127.4 in February, beating a previous record high 126.9 in July 2008, just as the housing crisis began to tighten its grip, CNBC reports.

I’m keeping it domestic to be kind. In my opinion, our newspapers are the canary in the coal mine warning of a society that has lost its moral compass. Today’s newspaper headlines and stories are merely the symptoms of a very serious disease and the bullet points above are just a partial list of the consequences of a very sick society!

So you keep servin’ up the sauce barkeep! I like mine shaken not stirred and very sorry to inform you that when I drink…while I am a loveable drunk, I tend to be very loud! So here’s a little piece of TRUTH from a cocktail we’re busy mixing. It’s called, REPEAL OBAMACARE HR2 …The wonderful thing about it? It actually saves you money, it makes you feel great…and THERE IS NO HANGOVER!!!

“In that vein, there is some good news from the CBO. It projects that enacting H.R. 2, the repeal of Obamacare, “would reduce the ‘federal budgetary commitment to health care’ by $464 billion over the 2012–2021 period.”  No wonder Americans want repeal.”

http://www.weeklystandard.com/blogs/cbo-2021-entitlement-spending-will-grow-99-120-percent-gdp_554009.html

Now that’s what I call Humane! 🙂

About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Economy, Politics, Religion, Society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where is OUR Humanity, They Ask?

  1. Jimmie Young says:

    Couldn’t have said it better myself!!! Right on Chip!!!!! Feet to the fire I Say!!!!! Gotta help them in Wisconsin NOW!!! Big Vote there!!!

Leave a Reply

