We’re Wide Awake! Now What?

I was much happier when I was asleep! We’ve all had the experience of waking up and not being able to get back to sleep. I personally subscribe to the early to bed, early to rise formula. At 4am, it feels like I have the world all to myself and for a couple of sweet hours she is just a sleeping baby. What will I do today? Who will I touch today?

Last week one of the members of a networking group I belong to, gave a presentation on stress (She happens to be a life coach-healer) that compared the typical modern-day person to a caffeinated Hulk Superhero. We save the world and then we crash! I wonder if you were able to give mankind a physical today, how he would compare to his last cosmic physical…say 30-40 years ago. I mean, we had a rush hour then too. Come to think of it, we had a rat race then too! So what has changed…really? When is the last time you had an experience that changed your life? I guess that probably each of us might answer differently…or would we? My cat just yawned…He (Barney) has no idea…

Maybe, just maybe…it’s not about what they are telling us. Maybe it’s about what we are telling ourselves if we would just stop to listen. What am I here for? What is my gift? What is my purpose? I don’t know what you see when you look out your window, but when I look out of mine I see a whole lot of Group Think out there…and not a lot of soul-searching. Collectivism versus Individualism…this is our great battleground! The other stuff is simply distracting noise meant to take our focus off the ball!

In my humble opinion, the Universe is asking us to Wake Up! We must respond by first responding with a good old-fashioned gut-checking self inventory. Who are we and what do we believe? And then we must engage by standing up for what we believe by doing what it is that we do best…even if it takes us out of our comfort zones! One of my favorite stories is of the local farmer who stepped off the farm and into the political arena. When it came time to deliver his first speech, he froze up…solid (I’ve been there…NOT fun!)! But he went on to win his bid for office.

The reality is that WE are in a mess that is well beyond the Collective capacity to fix. Our salvation has always been and will always be in the innovative spirit and energy of awakened and self-aware Individuals who have tapped into a power much higher than Albany or Washington! It is time for the tail to wag the dog! If it is to be, it is up to ME!

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Economy, Politics, Religion, Society and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

