Ode to the Welfare State

My friend Matt sent me this poem from an unknown author read into the 1949 Congressional Record by Rep Clarence J. Brown (R-Ohio), and asked me to put it to music. I also added the chorus and final verse…
The production is a bit raw, but you’ll get the idea…

Ode to the Welfare State (Democratic Dialogue)

Father, must I go to work?

No, my lucky son.

We’re living now on Easy Street

On dough fromWashington.

 

We’ve left it up to Uncle Sam,

So don’t get exercised.

Nobody has to give a damn—

We’ve all been subsidized.

 

 Harmonica

 

But if Sam treats us all so well

And feeds us milk and honey,

Please, daddy, tell me what the hell

He’s going to use for money.

 

Don’t worry, bub, there’s not a hitch

In this here noble plan—

He simply soaks the filthy rich

And helps the common man.

 

We’ve all been here before my friends,

We’ve all been here before

We’ve all been here before my friends,

And it looks…like we’ll be…forever more!

 

Harmonica

 

But, father, won’t there come a time

When they run out of cash

And we have left them not a dime

When things will go to smash?

 

Obama’s in the White House now

You better grab your honey.

God and Guns are all we need,

Let’s let them take the money…

 

We’ve all been here before my friends,

We’ve all been here before

We’ve all been here before my friends,

And it looks…like we’ll be…forever more!

 

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Economy, Politics, Religion, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ode to the Welfare State

  1. “God and Guns are all we need…”

    I wonder what’s in your government file, Chip.

    Heck… I wonder what’s in mine!

    One of these days I’ve gotta fill out a freedom of information request…

    (*SMILE*)

    BILL

  2. Wow, that was awesome Chip! I had to rip the video so i can view it later, again. Thank you!

  3. shutupnsing says:

    Thanks WTS!! Way more where that came from…I promise you!

Leave a Reply

