As Good As It Gets!

There Goes Johnny!

There Goes Johnny!

Jack Nicholson was As Good as it Gets…

Secretary: How do you write women so well?

Melvin Udall: I think of a man and I take away reason and accountability.

and

Gay Neighbor: Thank you, Melvin. You overwhelm me. I love you.

Melvin Udall: I tell you buddy…I’d be the luckiest guy alive if that did it for me.

 who could forget

Wilbur Force: Most people don’t like to go to the dentist but I rather enjoy it myself. (giggles) There’s a real feeling of progress when that old drill goes in. (maniacal laugh) I’d almost rather go to the dentist than anywhere… No Novocain…It dulls the senses. (smile)

from my favorite

Randall P. McMurphy: What do you think you are, for Chrissake, crazy or somethin’? Well you’re not! You’re not! You’re no crazier than the average asshole out walkin’ around on the streets, and that’s it.

There are few people who’ve made as strong an impression on my life as has the actor Jack Nicholson. I believe I can say without reservation that he, more so than anyone, is responsible for the healthy distrust of earthly authority and establishment I possess today. He made me the rebel I am!

I think one of the best pairings in history was the mind of Ken Kesey with the talent of Jack Nicholson which gave us One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest. But alas Brutus…where have all the Merry Pranksters gone?

Genius is an interesting thing to ponder. It seems to settle in certain people as both gift and curse at times. Some people wear it better than others to be sure. It’s hard sometimes to separate the person from the talent…Nicholson had is off-screen moments, but my sense of him was that he was a class act both on and off the screen. For instance, while so many of the Hollywood elite project a sort of “holier than thou” political omnipotence, Nicholson manages to keep his feet on the ground.

Who knows…maybe he took Shakespeare to heart:

To-morrow, and to-morrow, and to-morrow,
Creeps in this petty pace from day to day,
To the last syllable of recorded time;
And all our yesterdays have lighted fools
The way to dusty death. Out, out, brief candle!
Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player,
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage,
And then is heard no more. It is a tale
Told by an idiot, full of sound and fury,
Signifying nothing.~
From Macbeth

I read that Jack Nicholson has decided to retire because he has difficulty remembering his lines. I know that remembering his lines will never be a problem for me. I am already missing his wonderful spirit on “the stage”…and I’m praying for his replacement to come soon…because this Cuckoo Nest is in full lock-down and I for one refuse to take my meds! 🙂

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Politics, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

