We’ve All Been Here Before

"You could do that!"

“You could do that!”

If I had ever been here before I would probably know just what to do…   Don’t you?

If I had ever been here before on another time around the wheel I would probably know just how to deal with all of you.                                             ~ Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young “Déjà vu” 1970

Where were you in 1970? I myself was in the process of unfolding where I am today. I am here to tell you that real unfolding is extremely painful but very rewarding for those of us who choose to answer the call. Some people choose never to unfold; or they task others to do their unfolding for them. Some of us unfold to a certain level and decide to stay awhile, much like the world traveler who discovers that special place and decides to call it home. For some of us, it’s not a special place; it’s a special “friend”…

I don’t need no fancy car, I’ve got my feet to take me where you are.         Don’t need no moonshine, no caffeine, no pills…                                                               I got a bird, she’s a whipperwill.                                                                                 When she sings, she makes me fly…from the bottom of nowhere to the top of the sky!

And if you’re lucky enough to find her, she can help you see the things you couldn’t quite see with your own eyes and feel with your own heart…

I don’t need no mansion on a hill…to feel the sunshine on my window sill.  Don’t need religion to find the best of me…I give it all away religiously.     And when it’s gone, and I’m alone…just God and me in solidarity! 

But she will surely make you pay, because nothing lasts forever. She’ll take you to the Father she says she’s never known, and then drown you in the river you used to call your home…

I don’t need no government man                                                                                  tryin’ to sell me freedom from an empty can.                                                                 I see myself on the six o’clock news…                                                                                    caught up in the shuffle to them déjà vu blues.                                                        And when I’m gone, rest on the wind…I’ll come right back to my mother again!

…and she will raise me up again from the lowest low, and tell me all the things I used to know. So I can dust off this here guitar I used to play, and sing the songs of summer daze…long before she ever came my way.

So all you people have a listen to me,                                                                            when you get back home and you go to sleep.                                                         Your dreams will tell you what you need to hear…                                                 You better stop running from those things you fear.                                             And when your dawn meets your sun, you’ll shine your light on everyone!

Have we met? Déjà vu Blues

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Religion, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We’ve All Been Here Before

  1. Lee Morin says:

    Love this great job as always, love you

Leave a Reply

