They Need to Know “Independence Day”!

They need to know!

They need to know!

Independence Day ~ Chip Murray/ Lead & Backing Vocals, Guitars, Brushes on Kitchen Pot                                                                                                                           Peter Verutes / Electric Bass, Tambourine

 

Exactly 5 years ago today, I set the American flag out on our front deck as I had done so many times on so many different occasions over the years. For the most part, that morning of July 3rd 2009 seemed like every other July 3rd before it…the warm summer breeze, 1st round of haying in, corn coming up, the kids home from school. And yet something was wrong… “Something’s missing” was this looping thought I couldn’t get rid of…so I wrote a song about what I remembered.

I was born the land of my fathers’ home.

In a world of illusion I thought I owned.

The birthright of freedom that we hold dear…

was paid for by strangers no longer here.

At night, when I dream…

I can hear them say to me….

It’s Independence Day in my neighborhood

Where the people are friendly and life is good

Where the silver moon knows when the Sun goes away,

Tomorrow she will shine on Independence Day!

My cousin Rocky, I never knew.

Fell from the sky for me and you.

Rice paddies are soft but they can’t break the fall…

from the weight of freedom…heaviest of all.

At night I can hear, their voices in my ear…

Say to me, “Don’t let us down…Don’t let them turn you around.”

It’s Independence Day in my neighborhood

Where the people are friendly and life is good

Where the silver moon knows when the Sun goes away,

Tomorrow she will shine on Independence Day!

My brothers and sisters you don’t need a gun…

To fight for your country and honor the ones…

who gave up their days…they gave ‘em to you.

So let’s use them wisely, for the red, white and blue.

At night I can swear…I see them marching in the air

And I can hear them say to me, this is your destiny…

It’s Independence Day in my neighborhood

Where people are friendly and life is good

Where the silver moon knows when the Sun goes away,

Tomorrow she’ll shine on Independence Day

On Independence Day…on Independence Day.

CM-7/3/09

What a difference 5 years makes! For the first time in my life I worry that the silver moon will not know because the children have forgotten what Independence is and what it cost! I know there isn’t a neighborhood worth living in without it…but they don’t. Perhaps this could help. You never know…

The woman who made this video (Lisa Mei Norton of Big Dawg Music Mafia) had no way of knowing who “my cousin Rocky” was, or what his last name was. She had no way of knowing who James R. Dean Jr. was coming out of the 59,000 names on the Memorial Wall from the lower left portion of your screen at the 1:30 mark…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BPJ-aX3-2aY

And she certainly had no possible way of knowing that of the 4 million images on the internet she happened to get the one image of my cousin James R Dean, Jr. (Rocky!)! But the silver moon knew, and the silver moon knows tomorrow that the Sun will shine on Independence Day! We need to make sure our kids know!

 

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Economy, Entertainment, Jihad, Politics, Religion, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to They Need to Know “Independence Day”!

Leave a Reply

