The Sunday Morning Tune-up ~ “Back to the Garden”…of Gethsemane

Agony in the Garden of Gethsemane

Agony in the Garden of Gethsemane

Well, I came upon a child of God He was walking along the road And I asked him, tell where are you going? This he told me

Said, I’m going down to Yasgur’s Farm Gonna join in a rock and roll band Got to get back to the land and set my soul free

We are stardust, we are golden We are billion-year-old carbon And we got to get ourselves back to the garden

Well, then can I walk beside you? I have come to lose the smog And I feel myself a cog in somethin’ turning And maybe it’s the time of year

But then maybe it’s the time of man And I don’t know who I am But life is for learning

We are stardust, we are golden We are billion-year-old carbon And we got to get ourselves back to the garden

By the time we got to Woodstock We were half a million strong And everywhere was a song and a celebration And I dreamed I saw the bomber jet planes riding shotgun in the sky Turning into butterflies Above our nation

We are stardust, we are golden We are caught in the devil’s bargain And we got to get ourselves back to the garden

~ Woodstock, by Joni Mitchell

It’s hard to overstate the damage done to the heart and soul of America by our national counter-cultural acid trip during the sixties. And let me get this mea culpa out of the way from the start. I was riding as high as anyone with all my fabulous furry-freak-brother friends, deluded, seduced and misguided into the greatest hallucination of all time; the absurd notion that there was even the slightest thread of nobility in any of it! Ann Barnhardt draws a bead on the “Diabolical Narcissism” that has become pervasive in our culture. To review, a Diabolical Narcissist is a person who has freely chosen, exactly as the fallen angels (satan and the demons) did, to purge themselves of all charity and are thus voluntarily incapable of love or empathy, and whose entire emotional palate is thus limited to anger, hatred, jealousy and fear.” So, how in the world did I just make the leap from Joni’s “everywhere was a song and a celebration” to Ann’s “diabolical narcissism”? Follow me…By the way, do you hear that other voice?

First, we’d have to know Joni’s heart and frame-of-mind to understand her reference to the garden we needed to “get back to” when she penned Woodstock. I’m sure it wasn’t Gethsemane. My guess is she might have meant “back to the garden” of Eden…before The Fall. That makes perfect sense to my mind because most theologians would agree that the bomber “jet planes riding shotgun in the sky” would literally have been erased from the sky by the bite not taken, if Eve had it all to do over again and chose a Snickers Bar instead. But, then again, it sure would be interesting to know if Max Yasgur grew apples on his farm in 1969…there it is again, can you hear it, I know I’m not going crazy?

Like, hey man…what if Woodstock was our “back to the garden” do-over? Only this time our way-more-practiced-at-the-art-of-deception devil has expanded the garden menu to include free sex, free drugs, and free rock and roll? Hmm…I wonder if there’s a super computer super enough to calculate what all that free stuff has cost us all over time? Alright! Who is that?

So if the Eden Fall was all about Eve, then I’m here to tell you that the Yasgur Fall belongs to my entire generation! You’d think in the one hundred and thirteen days it took for the Woodstock dove apparition to transform into the angel from hell stabbing the life out of Meredith Hunter at Altamont, we might have realized we’d taken a seriously wrong turn. But there’s nothing more blind than the wishing mindand it all sounded so good, eh Sherlock? I mean who in their right mind would refuse a bite of such a perfectly juicy red ripe peace, love and happiness apple? But that’s how good a con the serpent plays. It was the same with Eve…I can hear her now, “But Adam; he promised…” I know that voice I’m telling you…he’s bending time…for us!

And so now here we are, the touch-of-gray crowd, in our third and final back to the garden moment…with the most powerful Apple of all in the palm of our hand…beaming the most tempting social promises of all time into the most wishing and least discerning collective mind of ALL time! What’s it gonna be boy? Did God design the Universe around baseball? Is this our bottom of the ninth, two outs, and a full count moment?

PERHAPS A TIME OUT WOULD BE IN ORDER?

If I speak with the tongues of men, and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And if I should have prophecy and should know all mysteries, and all knowledge, and if I should have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not charity, I am nothing.  — 1 Corinthians 13: 1-2

Well, I came upon the Son of God                                                                                                    He was kneeling all alone                                                                                                                      I asked Him “Why are you trembling from the weight of the world?”                                   This He told me…

It ALL comes down to our own free will and the three most fateful pitches in all of human history. The first was the most devastating because Eve was the devil’s doorway into his earthly kingdom. The second fall in Bethel took a greater toll because there were more souls to take, and quite a few more “Hell’s Mercenaries” to take them. But now, at this eleventh hour in the bottom of the ninth, with satan’s global grip on absolute power all but complete, there is whisper that rises above the all too familiar lure of temptation’s tongue. I followed the sweet sound back to the most loving garden of all at Gethsemane to find Him kneeling here alone in the darkness, praying for God to “take the cup” while committing to the Cross, God’s Will, and the greatest act of charity in all of human history in the very same instant. To be with Him in this garden is to finally possess the most essential knowledge of all: To witness what he gave of Himself into the soil of this garden for the love of the very people who came to torture and kill him is almost beyond every comprehension…except to say it is the exact polar opposite of the weed that has taken over every other garden in all industries of man. Eve could never have accepted the apple here! Santana, Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Hendrix would have played to an empty field here!

Have you ever asked yourself why it is that so much truly evil behavior in this day and age goes either uncontested or actively defended?  Why is it that people today just shrug things off that which would have spurred mass civil disobedience and protest within living memory?  Why is it that behavior that would have disqualified people from decent society just a few decades ago is now considered positively de rigueur?  Do you think it might have something to do with the ever-increasing concentration of DNs in our society, especially among the young?

This is what Diabolical Narcissists do, they “kill” souls (hence the Fifth Commandment categorization) and why I am bothering with this series at all.  This is how Diabolical Narcissists are “Hell’s Mercenaries”.  Diabolical Narcissists, whether they believe in God or not, whether they believe in satan and hell or not, whether they believe in right or wrong, or even in the concepts of faith and hope, or in love, attack other human beings such that their target loses either partially or completely their own faith, hope and/or love. ~ Ann Barnhardt

To consciously choose Gethsemane, I am saying I am in love with the earth and every one of you I share it with. But because I am not of it, it has no claim over me. And all that I would claim from it is as empty as thin air. But you are in the batter’s box now, as the devil starts his windup…AND it’s Spring…just days away from Opening Day

So, what’s it gonna be boy?

But he that shall scandalize one of these little ones that believe in Me, it were better for him that a millstone should be hanged about his neck, and that he should be drowned in the depth of the sea. Woe to the world because of scandals. For it must needs be that scandals come: but nevertheless woe to that man by whom the scandal cometh. ~ Matthew 18: 6-7

 

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Economy, Entertainment, Jihad, Politics, Religion, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

