It’s Not That I…

Looking Out My Window

Looking Out My Window

It’s not that I don’t love the sound of feet above my head

the marching bands & speeches from my eternal bed

the red, white and blues, the how-do-you-do’s, the flags on every street

God knows there’s something missing, gone missing in the heat

 

It’s not the heat of battle that put me in my grave…

But the heat of wanting something more than me to save

The years have taken something more precious than we knew

And turned it into something else, less noble, right and true

 

It’s not that I don’t appreciate and love the honor of this day

But rather what you’ve done with him, how you’ve hidden him away

So thank you all for coming to visit this old soldier’s grave, but… 

Please find the one gone missing, the something more than you to save…

 

Shutupnsing ~ May 30, 2016  Honor (Please listen after reading)

 

 

 

Chip Murray: Wide Awake
About Chip Murray

Singer/Songwriter
This entry was posted in Economy, Entertainment, Jihad, Politics, Religion, Society, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Not That I…

  1. ron8072 says:

    Thank you for this reminder Chip! Not only for “the one gone missing, the something more than you to save…”, but for the song which names the one gone missing………
    A solemn day for America, Memorial Day. Solemn indeed!

  2. Chip Murray says:

    God Bless You Ron…no one steadier than you! 😉

  3. D. says:

    Bravo chip. Great poem to contemplate every year.

Leave a Reply

